OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

The obligatory Cougar basketball post

leave a comment »

I can’t really come up with the words to express how yesterday’s loss makes me feel.

No, it’s not that I’m so in love with the team or any member of the team. It’s not even that the loss hurt so bad that I can’t explain how I feel. Actually it’s quite the opposite.

Pride. I’m so damn proud of our team that I can’t express it.

I feel like I watched this team grow up. I went to the games freshman year when we praised the lord if we won a game. I remember Jeff Varem and Thomas Kelati. I remember Josh Akognon. I remember. I spent time with a lot of these guys individually my freshman year. I know I name-drop often, but hey, a fact’s a fact. I played Donkey Kong with Derrick, watched Robbie and Daven play poker into the wee hours of the night, witnessed Josh stranded in the shower because Kyle had left and locked him out of their room. I saw Kyle strut with a fro and saunter with his braids. I partied with Chris Henry. A few years later, I roamed Greek Row with Aron and Thomas Abercrombie.

And that’s why I’m so proud. True, the team didn’t play to the best of their ability yesterday. And true, it was a tough match – playing UNC in Charlotte would be difficult for any team.

But I think a lot of people are overlooking an important thing here: WSU, the underdog, the “overrated” team of the Pac-10… we made it to the Sweet 16. We beat Notre Dame, had the first lead over UNC in the NCAA Tournament and made it further in the tournament than Gonzaga.

And that is nothing to be ashamed of.

Go Cougsar.

Written by Kaci Johanna

March 29, 2008 at 7:49 am

Posted in Rants/raves, School

Leave a Reply

