OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Two weeks later

leave a comment »

I’ve never been so busy and I’ve never loved it so much. I’m sure once the novelty wears off, I’ll just want to rip my hair out, but for now it’s a rush.

Being editor of a small weekly while trying to make the sports section of the daily survive isn’t the easiest thing I’ve ever done, but it’s definitely one of the most fulfilling and satisfying on both a personal and professional level.

We’re hoping to get the domain set up for the weekly, but for now all of that stuff is still up in the air. I still don’t have my own email address (I use the sports one through the daily), and my own desk and computer still hasn’t happened… but it’s all in the works. I am, however, getting my own cell phone through the company to use for the weekly at no charge, so that’s neat.

On the home front, things are hectic as well. We finally got Dish set up, but we’ve been battling – each other and internet companies – to get back online. Pete finally called Qwest today, so that should happen within the week. The house is a zoo; the only way to navigate the place for now is through paths among all my crap we finally got moved from Pullman over the weekend. But it’s nice to have it all here with me, and I’m starting to really feel like it’s home.

BUT Pete said he only sees us living in the place for about six months… he wants to buy something… yeah. I want something bigger, nicer, better too… but I do NOT want to move again in six months. If that happens, I’m hiring someone to pack and haul everything for me while I’m at the beach or something.

Velvet’s great… she can be a bit of a pest, but only in the most loving way possible. She definitely likes her peoples, and makes it extremely difficult for me to walk anywhere while she’s constantly under my feet. It’s worst when she thinks she needs to go into the bathroom with me, and whines at the door while I’m in the shower. But I love her. She’s bonding well with Pete, too, on their (almost) daily trips to the park. I guess she heard some other dogs howling the other day and tried to imitate them – Pete said he howl was a bit lacking. I wish I had been there.

Back to work – I have stories to write for a weekly deadline tomorrow.

Written by Kaci Johanna

May 21, 2008 at 11:08 am

Posted in Dogs, Journalism, Life, Work

Leave a Reply

