OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

On weekends in Dayton and shooting rifles

with 4 comments

A little delayed, perhaps, but we spent last weekend in Dayton. A shoot (target practice, etc.) in preparation for hunting season was originally in the plan but was rescheduled for next weekend… so we’ll be going back Friday.

Some of my family went out to where the shoot was going to be held, outside of Starbuck, Wash., to do a little shooting anyway. Pete and Des won the two “competitions,” and Mom decided Pete’s not allowed to compete next weekend… something about it only being for rookies, etc. Apparently his many years of hunting and being brought up around guns has paid off and made him accurate. Hooray.

Since I’d never actually shot a gun before, I didn’t participate. But Pete’s been trying to get me to pull the trigger for more than a year now, so yesterday (since work is a bit slow for me nowadays) he took me out to his mom’s outside of Soap Lake and handed me his .22. For those of you who don’t know much about guns (I’ve learned quite a bit already actually), that’s a pretty small rifle… and fun to shoot. I hit the old, rusty, metal barrel I was aiming at on the first shot!

After I could pretty consistently hit the barrel I almost started to get a little bored with it, and since there wasn’t anything else to shoot at with the .22, Pete handed me a .44. A little bigger than the .22 with a little more kick. Yeah, that was rough for me.

But it was fun and we’ll be taking the .22 this weekend so I can shoot a little with the rest of the crew. My only regret is I didn’t get any photos of me with the rifles.

Written by Kaci Johanna

October 1, 2008 at 5:15 am

Posted in Family, Life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Luckily the barrel was a hillside away… But the ping from the ricochet was definitely still audible. And motivation to keep shooting.

    Kaci

    October 1, 2008 at 9:20 am

  2. Holy God. Shooting a .22 at something metal? Some friends of mine did that once with an old hard drive, the bullet ricocheted and almost getting shot ensued. We quickly changed plans and got it with an AK.

    I’ve got a few friends who love their guns and get bored easily …

    tor

    October 1, 2008 at 9:05 am

  3. It WAS weird! But I liked it… well, the .22 anyway. The .44 was a little too much for me… I’ll stick with the lil ones for now.
    I’ll mention something to Pete, I’m sure he wouldn’t mind dog-sitting for a week or so… 🙂 Gotta help you bond with Ellyn!

    Kaci

    October 1, 2008 at 6:55 am

  4. I am going to try to leave you a comment anyways…
    You shooting a gun!?? That sounds a little weird. But good for you!
    Yes, Ellyn is pronounced Ellen, but I like the double ll as it looks more welsh. 😉
    We need to get rid of Hunter for a week so we can bond with her. She could care less about us! Hunter is soooo cool you know.

    Dune Cardigans

    October 1, 2008 at 6:39 am


Leave a Reply

