OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

On weekends in Dayton and shooting rifles… again

leave a comment »

I still didn’t get any photos of it but we were in Dayton again last weekend for some shooting. This time Mom and Zack’s friends had something a bit organized and there were prizes for competitions. I actually shot a little bit this time – the girls had our own targets for the .22s – but didn’t “compete.” Pete did, though, and won three boxes of shells for his guns… he left the shoot with more ammo than he started with. Woohoo!

To my surprise, I didn’t do horribly on my shooting. I hit a couple small targets (glass ones that shattered when you hit ’em) at 50 yards. I really didn’t shoot a lot since the competitions were going on, but I did load the gun on my own for the first time.

I’m still a little freaked out that I’ve now loaded and shot a gun and am getting to the point where I’m pretty comfortable doing so. I still don’t think I could kill a deer… or elk… or any living animal that isn’t a snake, arachnid or insect.

I did, however, get some photos of Velvet and Bailey, one of Pete’s chocolate labs, together. They played a lot and would have done more of it had Pete not taken Bailey out early Saturday morning for a day of quail hunting. She’s a damn good bird dog, if I do say so myself… and I can do that even if I haven’t ever seen her do it.
Velvet’s about 14 months old now and Bailey is about three years old… I think. Pete always says, “She’s three or four,” (or maybe it’s, “two or three”) but I’m pretty sure he’s been saying she’s the same age since we got together last summer.

Written by Kaci Johanna

October 9, 2008 at 10:35 am

Posted in Dogs, Family, Life

Leave a Reply

