OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Happy Halloween!

with 2 comments

This is exactly why clowns terrify me. Well, that, and the movie “It.” Ugh. Check out the set of photos of childhood fears brought to life.

Anyway, I wore black and orange today in honor of one of the best holidays in existence. Truth be told, I say that about almost every holiday. I’m trying to keep a positive attitude, though, since I just found out that most (OK, all) the work I’ve been doing for the past month has been a complete waste of time. Ugh. Funny how we in the communication industry lack good communication skills. And that’s all I have to say about that.

I enjoyed this video about the history and origin of Halloween and the role Irish Celts and their religion, paganism, played in Samhain, All-hallows Eve and Halloween. It talks about traditions such as Halloween costumes, pumpkin carving and trick-or-treating. Or, if you prefer to read, there’s some history here. Actually, everything  History Channel-related comes highly recommended from me.

After a conversation at work this morning, I’m seriously considering making the trek to WalMart to buy a bumble bee costume for Callie and a hot dog costume for Velvet. If that happens, expect pictures.

I really need to get a good photo of the pumpkin my brother carved for our mom a few years ago. He used one of those fake, plastic pumpkins so she could have it year after year, and she uses some sort of light instead of a candle, but it’s pretty sweet. And when I say it’s Captain Jack Sparrow from the Pirates of the Caribbean series, it doesn’t even do it justice.

Written by Kaci Johanna

October 31, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Posted in Dogs, Etcetera, Life, Work

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I ended up not getting costumes for them. I’m broke as a joke with a stack of bills to pay, so I figured I should prioritize. Damn adulthood.
    I’m glad you had a good night!

    K.

    November 2, 2008 at 12:30 am

  2. Your brother displayed his custom pumpkins again this year. Tons of compliments, as usual. He didnt make any new ones tho. Hope you had a great Samhain. We had a fabulous night. Did you get pics of dogs in costumes???

    Dune Cardigans

    November 1, 2008 at 10:56 pm


Leave a Reply

