OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Books, books, books

with 2 comments

Joel tagged me to list seven weird/random facts about my reading habits. Years ago – we’re talking junior high here, maybe high school – this would have been easy for me because I actually had time to read for pleasure. So, we’ll see where this takes me…

  1. The first sentence I ever read in a book is the last sentence of the book. Not the last paragraph or page… the last sentence and only the last sentence. I don’t know why.
  2. I used to love the Baby-Sitters Club books. If I didn’t own them all, I was pretty close… but only a few of the mysteries and super specials, and none of that little sister nonsense. I had 110+ of the books, so I think I was only missing something like 20 or so. I never could pick a favorite, but Claudia always really interested me.
  3. I ALWAYS cheated when I read the Choose Your Own Adventure Goosebump books. Always.
  4. I love the smell of old books. Back when I actually used to go to the library (I’m pretty sure Mom never believed me when I said that’s where I was going), I would open books and bury my nose in the pages. A little weird now that I think about it, but I love the smell. I should visit the library here…
  5. I’ve never experienced a book-turned-into-a-movie in which I didn’t think the book was much better. And I always look for incongruities in the movies… but I’m horrible at catching them.
  6. I take really good care of all the books I own (which, by the way, isn’t enough – suggest books for me to buy or better yet, buy them for me). I never dog-ear the pages or set drinks or food on them. Maybe it’s something 1984 did to me, but there’s something about books I feel I have to protect.
  7. I wish I read as much now as I did back in the day. Scratch that, I’m going to start.
I, like Joel, normally don’t tag specific people, but I’m going to in this case because I’m sure these people have quirkier quirks than I (me?):
  • Lisa at The Archives,
  • Victor at LoseFail
  • and Rikki at Go Go Internets Ranger.
Please?

By the way, regarding my previous post about being really creeped out about search terms? I’ve been had. Well played, friend, well played. You know who you are.

Written by Kaci Johanna

November 24, 2008 at 7:45 pm

Posted in Meme

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you knew you were a babysitters junkie when you automatically skipped the first 20 pages. it was all intro! you ever her read her old teen series, california diaries?

    rikkers

    November 25, 2008 at 9:55 am

  2. My secret shame? Growing up with cousins my age who were all girls… I tried to fit in by reading Babysitters Club.

    I’m not kidding. I always wanted to be Logan Bruno.

    So@24

    November 25, 2008 at 2:34 am


Leave a Reply

