OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Hey look, it’s snowing!

with 4 comments

… at least here in my own little (blog) world, anyway.

Thanks to Melo over at It’s just easier that way for pointing me in the right direction.

Yeah. That was a whole sentence linked over there. Whatever.

So it’s not snowing here in Moses Lake (yet) and I’m totally OK with that. In fact, I’d be totally OK if it only snowed Christmas day… as long as, of course I don’t have to drive anywhere.

I don’t like snow. I don’t like winter or the cold weather. Don’t get me wrong, I like chilly weather – you know, cold enough to wear cute coats and scarves and boots and all that – just as long as it stays above the snowing/freezing level.

You see, I have this fear. I don’t know, maybe it has something to do with the number of wrecks I’ve been in during the winter due to snow/ice (at least three I can think of off the top of my head, one of which resulted in my car being completely totaled after rolling two or three times and landing on the roof, dangling upside-down in my seatbelt then having to crawl through shattered glass). Just maybe. Not to mention the damage car wrecks have done to my family…

Yeah, I’ll take spring/summer/fall over winter any day.

That’s one thing I like about Moses Lake… and, well, most of Eastern Washington in general, though I wouldn’t venture too far north: lots and lots of sunny days and not so many wet/snowy days.

This year, I’m definitely getting snow tires. I never have before (I really just didn’t drive much in the past) but since I’ll HAVE to drive to work this year (I always took the bus – GAG ME – in Pullman) I figure I’m not taking any chances. Well, I’m either getting snow tires or a Toyota Tacoma. Or both.

Also, OK, I do want a little snow at some point. I’m dying to see what Callie and Sable will do in the stuff and I know Velvet loves playing in it. So cute!

Written by Kaci Johanna

December 4, 2008 at 12:24 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. umm, i just want to say that at first i thought there were bugs in front of the screen and i was trying to swipe them away.

    aside from that, i do like the snow. 🙂

    love!

    lucipetunia

    December 6, 2008 at 11:15 am

  2. Pickups aren’t bad in the snow if you have the bigger tires that can go through it, as opposed to my itty-bitty low-profile tires on my Jetta, which is also fairly low to the ground, so it doesn’t take much for me to get stuck. Also, four-wheel drive is a good thing in snow (though it obviously doesn’t do jack for you on the ice).

    But more than anything, I just really want a Tacoma. 🙂

    K.

    December 4, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  3. Aren’t pickup trucks just about the worst vehicle you could drive in snow?

    nickeaton.net

    December 4, 2008 at 9:44 pm

  4. I can definitely understand your dislike of snowy/icy weater since you’ve been in a lot of accidents. That really sucks.

    It hardly snows in my hometown, but we get a lot of ice. It iced three Christmases ago, and I was positive I was going to have a heart attack because it was so hard to drive. Ugh.

    EP

    December 4, 2008 at 7:30 pm


Leave a Reply

