OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Help? Please.

with 3 comments

I’m writing this on my BlackBerry (I’m SO glad I have it) because my laptop is in a coma. Yes, my beautiful little XPS with an even more beautiful skin from skinit.com (look it up yourself, I don’t want to take the time to put a link up from the BB).

I refuse to say it’s dead until I have a doctor look at it, but it’s not lookin’ good. Something about the hard drive and blah blah blah. Yeah, I ran diagnostics and the error messages don’t lie.

So anyway, I need your help. Two-fold. First, if you happen to live in the ML area, who should I take my beloved to? I’m highly interested in data recovery because the external hard drive I DID have died a couple years ago (ugh) and I never got around to getting another (ugh).

Second, Pete and I have been looking into buying a desktop (more seriously than we’ve been looking into buying a house, which I wrote about the other day and also? We’re not really that serious about it and can I also say that list of stuff I posted about the house I want? Yeah I’m totally dreaming/fantasizing, I know that’s not realistic and I don’t expect anything close to that.)

Anyway. We want a desktop. And now it’s looking more like we need one, too. So help topic #2: What kind do you recommend? I’ve always had Dells and while I like them, I’m sure there are some other excellent options out there. Yes I want a pc. No I don’t want a mac.

Help!?

Written by Kaci Johanna

February 28, 2009 at 6:29 am

Posted in Life, Rants/raves

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bring it in on Sunday. I’ll have a look. I;’m no technogeek, but it wouldn’t be the first sick computer I’ve given last rites to.

    Joel

    March 1, 2009 at 8:19 am

  2. If you need someone to take it to, I’ve had good experiences with Dave’s Computer Repair, at Third and Ash. (Across from the post orifice, then to the alley behind Third.) He comes across as kind of clueless, but he knows what he’s doing, and more important, he’s honest as all get out.

    Joel

    March 1, 2009 at 8:16 am

  3. *cracks knuckles*

    There are a few things you can do before resorting to spending oodles of money. What exactly is the error you get and when does it occur? It may be possible to salvage with an external yourself.

    For desktops, Dells really aren’t bad. I would wait a little bit and look around for the best deals, rather than pouncing right away. What exactly are you looking to do with it? If you’re just general computerizing, you should be able to get away with under $500 for monitor & keyboard (example: Office depot has $60 off $300+ orders right now + free shipping, which brings a computer I spec’d out to $500 shipped – $50 mail-in). For more stuff, you’re gonna have to spend more. The only brands I would stay away from are Acer, Compaq and eMachines, as they’re “bargain” brands, and bargain computers are generally not worth even the pittance you spend.

    Dan

    February 28, 2009 at 10:56 am


Leave a Reply

