OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Pro-gun is not pro-murder

with 6 comments

I don’t even know where to start on this.

I’m not going to get into what I think about those who attend church regularly versus those who don’t. I don’t have energy. Or the brainpower.

Hey, it’s my weekend. I’m allowed to dumb down.

What REALLY gets me is this comment in the article:

 Alex from Florida writes:

This should be a wake-up call to pastors. They need to teach their congregations that supporting a conservative ticket based on some values like marriage and/or abortion does not mean that you have to support the parts of that platform that don’t jive with those values.* They need to address the paradox and say, “You can’t be pro-life and at the same time be pro-death penalty, pro-guns, and pro-torture.**” (emphasis mine)

First *: I agree. I think people should support ideas and values and stop following politicians blindly, treating them like a deity. Newsflash: They’re human. Their shit stinks, too.

Second *: I am not going to talk about pro-life v. anti-life v. pro-choice here.  Like I said, I don’t have the energy.

What I am going to talk about is the complete and utter ignorance about guns. This guy (though I guess it could be a girl), Alex from Florida, is equating guns with death. He is saying that one cannot support the right to own a firearm while maintaining a stance against abortions without being a hypocrite. He is saying guns = murder.

And that pisses me off.

If guns are so bad and murderous, we should probably ban them. And while we’re at it, we should make tobacco illegal. And alcohol. And tanning salons and being outside in the sun without SPF 5 billion. And DRIVING. And…

You get the idea. A gun isn’t going to walk up to anybody and shoot them. No, that takes another person.

There’s a joke, from one of the guys in the Blue Collar Comedy group, that goes: Guns don’t kill people. Husbands who come home early do.

And while I don’t think the joke, at its core, is particularly funny, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT.

A person must make the decision to point, aim and fire a gun at another person for them to be deadly. Sure, there are concerns about negligence – parents leaving guns loaded and unlocked where children can get them – but that is still the doing of a person.

And like Pete says, when a gun isn’t loaded, it’s just a fancy club.

And now I don’t know how to wrap up this rant. All I can say is that I’m tired of people talking about shit they know nothing about.

/end rant.

Written by Kaci Johanna

May 2, 2009 at 6:56 am

Posted in Politics, Rants/raves

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If someone is quick enough to anger to consider using a firearm in a situation that does not warrant it chances are they are going to go to the extreme using a “non-lethal” weapon such as a bat. Great Britain is having a huge problem with knife violence. As for purchasing a firearm it depends on the state as far as waiting periods and such go. Felons are automatically dis-qualified. In most states you must be 21 years of age or older to purchase a handgun, and most states require a 5 day or greater wait period unless you have your CPL (concealed pistol license) But you hit the nail on the head with this post K.

    jeramyd

    May 10, 2009 at 11:10 pm

  2. You get the idea. A gun isn’t going to walk up to anybody and shoot them. No, that takes another person.

    I make no secret that I’m vehemently opposed to abortion. Yet I don’t advocate banning the possession of vacuum cleaners.

    Alex takes his (or her) politics at about the depth of a bumper sticker, no more.

    Joel

    May 4, 2009 at 4:17 pm

  3. Dan,

    I can see your point. I don’t think just anybody should be able to walk into the store and purchase a gun. And I don’t know enough to go into the policy that should be behind who can and can’t purchase guns.

    Kaci

    May 4, 2009 at 2:41 am

  4. While I certainly don’t agree that pro-gun = pro-murder, the perspective I always take is that guns precipitate violence. Using the aforementioned joked as an example, if the husband comes home early and all that’s lying around is a baseball bat, it’s unlikely anyone’s going to die. If there’s a handgun readily available, the chances of death increase dramatically.

    A fancy club it may be when unloaded, but my biggest concern is that it’s not altogether too difficult to acquire bullets or the club itself. I don’t think guns should be completely outlawed, but excessively tight restrictions would be nice at least.

    Dan

    May 3, 2009 at 10:44 am

  5. I hate when people are so gung-ho about one certain value, and so gung-ho about a completely contradictory value as well.

    Angela

    May 2, 2009 at 8:56 pm

  6. […] Original post by Kaci […]


Leave a Reply

