OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

Name game

with 8 comments

So lately I’ve been thinking.

I know. It’s a dangerous thing. Don’t worry, I don’t do it often. Just ask Pete.

But lately I’ve been thinking about this blog a lot. I’m in the (slow, painful) process of making some big changes (big thanks to Lauren – I’d link here but GOTTA LOVE POSTING VIA EMAIL FROM MY BLACKBERRY CUZ I DONT HAVE INTERNET so I can’t) in my neck of the interwebs. But that’s not what I’m talking about here.

Fun lil tirade though right? Right.

I’m talking about a change more immediate… “Off the Record” just doesn’t sound like it fits anymore. I don’t write near enough about journalism and I try to avoid writing specifically about work at all costs… So I’m thinking about changing the name of the blog.

Change it to what, you ask? So sweet of you to inquire.

To “Kaci Johanna,” of course.

Boring? Or more accurate? Or both? Or something else entirely? Thoughts?

EDITED TO ADD: Check out Lauren (see above) here.

Written by Kaci Johanna

September 14, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Posted in Blogging

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm… I don’t know. I’m going to have to think on this one, but I’m excited for you!

    E.P.

    September 19, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  2. how about “let’s keep it short”

    ahahahaha

    Rikki King

    September 15, 2009 at 7:11 pm

  3. Aw you’re sweet. I will demand the link later 🙂 I like Off the Record – then again, my blog is similar… Off Beat Report. It’s just catchy and still captures your journalistic essence – even if that’s not what you’re posting about all the time. Heck, I rarely post about journalism.

    BUT

    On the contrary, what IS journalism? Perhaps this is a discussion for a later time, but I always envisioned “my kind” of journalism to be stories. Stories of real-life events relived through words. Recapturing a moment, however big or small, and retelling it so the world can know.

    If you think about it that way, every entry we post is journalism in some way.

    Chew on that before you change the name 🙂

    Lauren

    September 15, 2009 at 10:00 am

  4. how bout:
    “as i see it”
    “every which way but…..”
    “suspension of disbelief”
    “Kaci on:”
    “don’t look now”
    “sideseat driver”
    “who’s up for Scrabble?”
    “why’s the rum gone?”
    “it’s 5:00 somewhere”
    “Yes…i’m this good.”
    “I need a distraction…….where’s Kanye?”
    “Runs with scissors”

    seriously, i could do this all day.
    i can do more “edgy” stuff, but i don’t know if that’s what you’re going for.

    big brother

    September 15, 2009 at 6:40 am

    • I can always count on you for some creativity.

      These are good! Especially that Kanye one… ha!

      Kaci

      September 15, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  5. a little on the boring and plain side. i like “off the record” because, well it is, and anyone body that knows you and your work can make the connection. I understand the need for change, so a new name might just spice things up a little bit! i can’t think of anything right now, but if i do, i’ll let you know.

    actually i can come up with a lot of cool stuff….i just don’t know if they’re for “you”. 🙂

    big brother

    September 15, 2009 at 6:24 am

  6. Well I think your idea fits rather well. Seeing how your blog contains all things you. Plus its way to damn hard to think of something clever that everyone will adore. Well for me it is anyway.

    J

    September 14, 2009 at 10:53 pm


Leave a Reply

