OFF THE RECORD

I cuss a lot. In other news, I have adorable pets.

More than meets the eye

with 6 comments

I, too, write. I write for work (sometimes), but I deal with many pieces of writing for work … which makes it difficult to go home at night and write for fun. But I used to write for fun, and I miss that.

I laugh at things I probably shouldn’t laugh at. I curse more than what most people are comfortable with.

I love. I mean I really, really love. I love my dogs. I love shoes. I love my boyfriend. I really love my family and REALLY love my nieces. (Okay, I REALLY love my boyfriend, too.) When I love, I REALLY love.

I hoard, but I try not to. I always seem to think that someday, I’m going to neeeeed that. And then four years later I realize I haven’t taken it out of the box, not even once.

I dream. I dream about what it would be like to be a stay-at-home mom, a housewife. I dream about operating a kennel out of our home with Pete. I dream about training dogs all day while Pete is at work. And then I dream about showing off the dogs’ talents when he gets home.

I sing along to every. song. I hear. I can’t help it. I LOVE music.

I read – not as much as I used to, and not as much as I’d like, and a lot of my novel reading has been replaced with blog reading, and I’m okay with that. I admire so, so, so many bloggers for so, so many reasons.

I enjoy the History Channel but hated every history class I ever took. I enjoy a good rodeo and/or demo derby, if for no other reason than they remind me of home.

I protect my tweets because I’m too impulsive to not tweet about work, and I can’t risk those tweets being found by the public at large. But I do like my job. Most days. I subscribe to more blogs than I can keep up with and still feel like I’m missing out on some great ones.

I miss dancing and going out with my girlfriends. I miss college basketball games and Thirsty Thursdays.

I wear heels and almost never wear flats that aren’t flip flops. I like to argue, but not REALLY argue.

I tickle my nieces when I see them and miss them when I don’t see them.

I watch re-runs on TV even when I’ve seen them a thousand times before.

I listen to Matchbox 20 in my car.

I’m more than this. So much more.

This post was inspired by the one and only Doniree. Read her post here.

Written by Kaci Johanna

September 16, 2009 at 7:43 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love, love, love this post. Thanks for sharing this!

    E.P.

    September 19, 2009 at 5:14 pm

  2. Thanks for letting me know about the non-WP plugin. The search continues. 🙂

    Well if you really must keep some sort of memory of the items, photographing them or scanning them is the route I normally take.

    The Everyday Minimalist

    September 18, 2009 at 9:08 am

  3. P.S. What is that plugin that you’re using to let people reply to individual posters?

    I’d love to know. Thanks!

    The Everyday Minimalist

    September 17, 2009 at 5:51 am

  4. Hoarding is totally fine if you are organized and you can actually find what you know you have at the exact time you need it. 🙂

    I mean, hoarding supplies for toilet paper and other such things on sale makes total sense to me. And even hoarding toothpicks makes sense.

    Who knows when you’re going to have an impromptu BBQ?

    But hoarding broken pieces of toys just for sentimental value? Yeah. I did that once upon a time.

    The Everyday Minimalist

    September 17, 2009 at 5:49 am

  5. Love this. I, for one, learned a few things about my blogger friend 😉 A lot of things we have in common too.

    Oh, and damn you for introducing ANOTHER blog for me to try and keep up with… 🙂

    Lauren

    September 17, 2009 at 12:05 am

  6. ah, this is great! i’m the opposite when it comes to heels – I hardly wear heels and LIVE in flats: sneakers, flip flops, babydoll shoes, all of ’em.

    So glad you were inspired, and it’s lovely to see what YOU do 🙂

    Doniree

    September 16, 2009 at 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

